Thursday, May 17, 2012

Gelatin and the trick question

Pin It
Jello is a healthy, light, vegetarian food, right?

Wrong! According to Wikipedia, Gelatin (or gelatine) is a translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless solid substance, derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones.

I did not make that up, and let's just get it out of the way: Eughhh! Bill Cosby forgive me, but there is no way I am putting animal bones in my mind (again).

There are some alternatives, such as agar, which is made from seaweed (mush less yucky!). It is important to check for gelatin in regular cooking processes, as people tend to forget its an animal product.

Vegetarians and vegans should also be careful when using pills with gell capsules, so make sure your doctor specifies a vegetarian capsule.